There’s no Business like Snow Business

I love snow. I still get excited every time I wake up in the winter to find fluffy flakes coating everything in white.

That first fall of snow every year is especially fun. It’s like the world has been dusted with fingerprint power. Suddenly, everywhere you look, the ground is littered with tracks and trails winding through the forest. Looking at all these footprints from the tiniest mouse to the big (but not necessarily bad) wolf, you realize there are a lot more critters in the forest than you were ever aware of.

I actually kind of miss it when all these signs melt away in the spring. It’s nice knowing that you’re not alone on those quiet walks through the woods.

I don’t really know if it’s true that the Inuit have 100 names for snow, but they do have several and we experience all of these different forms up here. There are two types in this picture alone.  The snow floating to the ground in fluffy flakes would be called anniu, and once it settles on the surface, you would call it api.

Unlike large parts of the country, we’ve only had light flurries since the first couple big snows this winter. Personally, I’d like a bit more. It would make snowshoeing more fun, but we had a lot of moisture in 2010 and the ground is already saturated. Unless we have a very slow melt this spring, we’re going to see a lot of flooding. Still, I just can’t help but wish for just a little bit more snow.

2 thoughts on “There’s no Business like Snow Business

  1. Wonderful coincidence that I’ve recently been learning about snow and my son has given me some great papers from his university years. I’ve recently posted an illustration of what I understand to be qamaniq to Flickr and am truly appreciative of the words you have described here on you blog.

    I love your images as well and really admire the way you integrate the text.

    • Hi Cindy! Great to see you on wordpress and thanks for your kind comments. I have more thoughts on snow words coming up very soon. Winter is actually a very fertile ground for interesting nature topics.

Leave a Reply

